I’m afflicted

One of my goals this Spring Break was to finish the first draft of novel #3 in the Thomas O’Shea series. Just a few chapters, going back a bit and making minor revisions, forging ahead. Well, I did it. I finished the final chapter, Chapter 30. I tried to avoid finishing it, to be honest. I have what the great James Lee Burke calls “corrosive self-doubt,” which is an affliction all writers suffer.
 
I dawdled. I dallied. I thought of other things I could do besides finish that last, short, chapter. I played “monster” with my dog, chasing her around the cottage, a game she loves. I got on Facebook for a while. I read up on the Hawkeyes, the Red Sox, political scandals. I went back to my computer.
 
I finished, immediately followed by a sense of satisfaction, a sense of imminent doom, a bit of sadness that it was over. But I finished. Next step? Well, I mean to put it away until May, and then I’ll go full bore making revisions, some major, most minor. I have to get all the names straight, the timelines accurate, the details nailed down, maybe more research to review, the loose ends tied up. But I love that part of being a writer as well.
 
Next step after that? Off to my publisher and start to write again.
 
Being a writer is an affliction, but it is a delightful one, especially when a work is finished. And I did that. Now I can spend my valuable time watching March Madness. Of course, there’s some writing I need to do.

The beat goes on.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m afflicted

  1. Ann Ellison says:

    I have really enjoyed the first two books and will be looking forward to reading this one.

  2. restorel66 says:

    Nick Nolte played generational alcoholic Wade Whitehouse in Affliction, one of the most riveting and headache inducing depictions of addiction ever produced. It made the viewer feel like an alcoholic, constantly off balance. James Coburn won best supporting actor that year (1997) for his portrayal of Wade’s whiskey guzzling father. Sometimes when I write I feel like Wade Whitehouse.

  3. Pingback: Affliction and The Writing Life | If You Long For Home...

Leave a Reply

