The Best Dog

This is a sad and lonely morning in the Carenen Cottage. We had to put our dog to sleep. Degenerative bone disease had rendered her a cripple in pain, and she was getting worse fast.

I can tell you this about her. She was intelligent, playful, obedient, sweet-natured (never bit anything but her food), and a good snorer. She had a large vocabulary that included the usual “squirrel,’ and many others. She knew “eat,” “dog,” “out,” “come,” “sit,” “stay” and “pterodactyl.” She also knew “night-night” and “bath,” but she pretended she didn’t know “bath,” but I know she did because when I said it, she tried to disappear. Not easy for a 79-pound Zimbabwean Cattle Retriever – Crested (actually, she was a blend of Golden Retriever, German Shepherd, and several other breeds, including “Mushpot”).

She was always good and generally happy, her tail wagging all the time, even when the vet was giving her the injections.

She was our friend and companion, greeter, and confidant. We miss her already.

Her name was “Roxie.”

IMG_0257

This entry was posted in Tales from the Carenen Cottage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Best Dog

  1. Ann Ellison says:

    It’s hard to have to say goodbye to our fur babies. I had a 16 year old miniature dachshund that I had to put to sleep last October because of stomach blockage. I had gotten him when he was six weeks old right after my husband passed away. Dusty loved me through some rough days. I am so sorry that you had to go through that with Roxie.

  2. Melissa ryon says:

    Thinking of you both!! Much love is being sent your way.

  3. Karen reed says:

    Sorry for your lost John and family

  4. burgelflitz44 says:

    That day will be here very soon for us – wish I had known this last time Roxie visited, I would have hugged her a second time, and a third. What a great dog!! You had a treasure there. She got along with everyone, Leroy loved her, and even my persnickety Max cat was won over by her gentleness. But this is what I will say to the Roxie-she-bites and Leroys that God puts in our lives. “I am so glad that I got to be your owner because I treated you with respect and fairness, loved you and adored you as much as you did me, and the memory of you will not fade anytime soon. I swear I will see you and hear you for months on end, and I will choke up at the thought of how much I miss you every. single. time. ” Thank you for honoring your girl and sharing her with us, friend. Patrice

  5. Sooooo very Sorry, Yall!

  6. mickcgorman says:

    Roxie sounds like she was quite a character.
    Sorry for your loss. 😦

Leave a Reply

