Real Romantic

two_towers_024

Valentine’s Day is looming and so I’m going to come right out and say it: I am a romantic. The Oxford English Dictionary’s second defintion of romantic is, “of, characterized by, or suggestive of an idealized view of reality. . . ” Further, the OED defines “idealized” as “regard or represent as perfect or better than reality.”

My idealized view of reality has many faces. For example, I believe certain scenes in movies are real. The battle scenes in The Lord of the Rings, for example, are real and make my heart swell every time I see them. They make me want to participate. I believe, and I don’t want any additional footage trying to convince me that special effects, camera angles, and choreography were involved. I DON’T WANNA HEAR IT!

Another face of my romanticism works for me in literature. For example, I believe every word of The Life of Pi. I believe the story. I believe Richard Parker was a real tiger and that he and Pi made it to Mexico and Richard Parker strolled off into the jungle and found a girl tiger and they had cubs and a nice habitat and pizza delivery. So don’t tell me Richard Parker was a symbol for something else. He was a tiger.

Also, I tend to be a romantic when it comes to sports. I believe my Iowa Hawkeyes will win next year’s BCS championship and this year’s Final Four. And the Red Sox will win the next World Series.

Finally, I must say that my romantic view of my long-suffering wife is based on facts that interface perfectly with “an idealized view of reality” and “perfect or better than in reality.” You can look it up.

This entry was posted in Family, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Real Romantic

  1. restorel66 says:

    “Best Valentine”

Leave a Reply

